Why oh why was I so scared?

Before I had my baby I knew I would want to baby wear.  But there was so much out there, so much information, and without any experience, or knowing any other “baby wearers” I was quickly overwhelmed.  It’s so easy to get that way during your first pregnancy.  So much information, so much contradicting information.

I was sure that I wouldn’t be able to handle much.  After much research I put the maya wrap on my baby registry.  And my husband found a baby bjorn at a resale for cheap.  So we started with those.  And I love my Maya, even at a year.  When Moppet was six months or so I needed something more structured and that spread the weight out more.  I needed something to replace the baby bjorn.  Moppet outgrew that thing in a matter of weeks.  I am so glad I didn’t drop 80 bucks on that carrier.  Just not a good carrier. It was replaced with an E-bay Ergo.  One of the best purchases I’ve ever made.  Spreads the weight out, good for my back and baby’s.  She sleeps great in it, great for long hikes, and holds through toddler hood.  The best part? My husband will use it.  I love that.  It can fit both of our frames, which are so different.

In May I tried on my friend’s mai tie and loved it.  Looking at it, I realized I could sew my own.  So a different momma friend sent me a link to a website full of free patterns.  I have great momma friends, I really do.  I made one from what I had around- it came to about 12 dollars total.  It’s a great carrier, but baby tends to slump down in it when she’s asleep.  And the flannel I used tends to loosen up on me, so I have to tighten her up.

I finally, finally started to look at wraps.  I wanted something that I could just put on and slide baby in and out of.  The Moby sounded great.  After asking around though the consensus was, rated for 35 pounds or not, a stretchy wrap is no good for a bigger baby.  

This was my start into wrap research.  It was extensive.  I learned about making my own.  Did you know how simple one is? Get this: a wrap is just a long, rectangular piece of fabric.  Right.  That’s it.  Moby’s and Boba’s are made of jersey and spandex or something stretchy.  So if you know how to use one of those already, you can use any wrap.  Honest. Because those fancy woven wraps? They are identical, only made with cotton, silk, hemp or something similar.  Something a bit more sturdy.

But the woven wraps can carry a newborn or a toddler.  Or, a master wrapper, can get a toddler on their back and a newborn on the front.  In the same wrap.  Cool, no? 

And they come in so many pretty colors.  I had found what I was going to spend my Etsy gift card on.  

And it came in the mail yesterday. I love it.  I only got a small chance to try it with baby, but I can already feel how much better it spreads her weight out than any other carrier I have.  I wish I had one when she was a newborn.  Well, now I’ll now. 

Wraps seem intimidating and like baby isn’t going to be supported.  But they are so simple, supportive and easy! And because of their simplicity you can use them in the largest variety of ways, through the longest age range.  Save your bucks, skip the Baby Bjorn, shell out a few extra bucks and get a wrap.  Woven is the best bang for you buck of course.  But there is a convenience to the stretchy wraps, in that you can just leave it on all day if you want.  If you have the money, or the registry, get a stretchy for the newborn, assuming it’s not too hot out, and a woven as well. 

3 thoughts on “Why oh why was I so scared?

  1. Hello! This is kind of off topic but I need some guidance from an established blog.
    Is it very hard to set up your own blog? I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty quick. I’m thinking about creating my own but
    I’m not sure where to begin. Do you have any points or suggestions? Appreciate it

    • There are many free blog sites (WordPress and Blogger come to mind) that make it really easy! You don’t need to know code, invest money, or have technical skills to set it up. The important part is being consistent and posting regularly. Just make posting a habit and it will come more easily.

  2. Pingback: Baby wearing: For the Plus Sized momma | Relax Momma

Leave a Reply

